Student Rights and Responsibilities

Students have the responsibility of knowing the following:

  • Requirements for applying for financial aid
  • College refund and repayment policies
  • Guidelines affecting a financial aid award
  • Guidelines for disbursing financial aid refunds

Students have the right to discuss and to appeal financial aid decisions in writing with personnel in the Student Financial Services Office.

Eligibility Requirements

To receive Title IV student financial assistance, a student must meet the following requirements:

  • Be unconditionally admitted to the college;
  • Be a high school graduate or have a GED;
  • Be a United States citizen or an eligible non-citizen;
  • Be registered with Selective Services, if required;
  • Be in need financially;
  • Be enrolled at the College as a regular student in an eligible degree program;
  • Be making satisfactory academic progress (see additional info below);
  • Be in no default on a federal student loan and not owe a refund on the return of federal aid.

To Parents and Prospective Students

Due to federal privacy regulations that do not allow student information to be shared without a student’s consent, students must complete a Student Consent Form for Release of Financial Records to allow their financial aid information to be shared with parents, legal guardians, spouses and/or any other relationships.

Nondiscrimination Policy

It is the official policy of the Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education and Northwest Shoals Community College that no person in Alabama shall on the grounds of race, color, disability, sex, religion, creed, national origin, or age, be excluded from participation, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program, activity, or employment. The College complies with nondiscriminatory regulations under Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; Title IX Education Amendment of 1972; Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973; and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990.