The Math Department at Northwest-Shoals Community College is committed to helping students excel in developmental and transfer math courses so they can succeed in career/technical programs or prepare to transfer to a university.  We offer a variety of courses at flexible times, including day, night, and online.  Review the links below on how math courses at NW-SCC can help you achieve your goals!

Math Labs

Many NW-SCC math students complete courses at one of our campus Math Labs.  Below you will find current information on Math Lab hours and important dates.

Fall 2022

Shoals Campus Math Lab Hours

Monday-Thursday   8:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Friday  8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Phil Campbell Campus Math Lab Hours

Monday & Wednesday   8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday & Thursday   8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Friday   10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

 

Tutoring Options

Student Support Services – offers free in-person tutoring for qualified students

Smarthinking Online Tutoring  – free drop-in or scheduled online tutoring accessible through your Blackboard account by clicking the Smarthinking link in your Blackboard course list or by clicking the ‘Connect to a Tutor’ button while working in MyMathLab.

Math Faculty


Dr. Matt Gargis

Photo of Dr. Matt Gargis
Mathematics Instructor, Mathematics Division Chairperson, Faculty Director of Upward Bound Math and Science Work Phone: 256-331-8029 Website: Office Hours


Sharon Watson

Photo of Sharon Watson
Mathematics Instructor Work Phone: 256-331-6253 Website: Office Hours


Brian Smith

Photo of Brian Smith
Mathematics Instructor Work Phone: 256-331-8007 Website: Office Hours


Kim Sheppard

Photo of Kim Sheppard
Mathematics Instructor Work Phone: 256-331-5331 Website: Office Hours


Pam Peters

Photo of Pam Peters
CIS/Business/Math Instructor Work Phone: 256-331-6326 Website: Office Hours


Claude Eubanks

Photo of Claude Eubanks
Math/Physical Science Instructor Work Phone: 256-331-5293 Website: Office Hours


Sherry Crabtree

Photo of Sherry Crabtree
Mathematics Instructor Work Phone: 256-331-6258 Website: Office Hours


Part-Time Math Faculty

Frank Billingham
fbillingham@yahoo.com
frank.billingham@nwscc.edu

Kim Brown
kbrown@tuscumbia.k12.al.us
kim.brown@nwscc.edu

Makenzie Holley
holleymakenzie@gmail.com

Brian Martin
brian.martin@nwscc.edu

Melinda Pounds
melinda.pounds@nwscc.edu

Sherry Tippett
sherry.tippett@nwscc.edu