est-Shoals Community College’s (NWSCC) Alpha Zeta Iota chapter (Phil Campbell Campus) and Alpha Sigma Beta (Shoals Campus) recently received 16 awards at the 2017 Phi Theta Kappa International Convention in Nashville, Tenn.

The Phil Campbell and Shoals Campus Chapter was recognized with the following awards:

  • Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award – Phil Campbell Campus

  • Coca Cola Leader of Promise Scholar – Kaylen Bishop

  • Distinguished Honors in Action Award – Phil Campbell Campus

  • Distinguished College Project Award – Phil Campbell and Shoals Campus

  • Distinguished Chapter Officer – Clay Hodge

  • Distinguished Chapter Advisor – Pam Peters

  • Distinguished Administrator – Dr. Timmy James

  • Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award – Phil Campbell Campus

  • Five-Star Chapter Award – Phil Campbell and Shoals Campus

  • Eighth Finalist, Most Distinguished Chapter Award – Phil Campbell Campus

  • Reach Award (for increasing membership) – Phil Campbell and Shoals Campus

  • Top 100 Chapters – Phil Campbell and Shoals Campus

Phil Campbell Campus Officers are: Kalley Baker (Russellville), Kaylen Bishop (Haleyville), Yaneliz Fernandez (Phil Campbell), Lacey Wilson (Vina), and Clay Hodge (Belgreen). Advisors for the Phil Campbell (Alpha Zeta Iota) chapter are Nora Lee, Pam Peters and Rachel Trapp. Clay Hodge was recognized as the winner of the Convention T-shirt Design Competition and received a $500 stipend.

Shoals Campus Officers are: Dana McCormack (Tuscumbia), Diane Peeples (Muscle Shoals), Harley Duncan (Florence), America Padron (Tuscumbia), Betty

Brooks (Killen) and Ashley Figueroa-Cifuentes (Russellville). Advisors for the Shoals chapter are Desiree South, Jacque Jefferys, and Lisa Gibson. Ashley Figueroa-Cifuentes served as Alabama Regional Officer.

Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of the Two-Year College, has recognized academic excellence in the two-year college since 1918. The Society is comprised of more than 1,250 chapters at community, technical and junior colleges in all 50 of the United States, in Canada, Germany, U.S. Territories, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, the United Arab Emirates, the Republic of Palau and the British Virgin Islands, making it the largest and most prestigious honor society serving two-year colleges.