Diane Peeples (pictured on the left) and Josh Pinkard (pictured on the right) are joined by NWSCC President, Dr. Glenda Colagross.

MUSCLE SHOALS & PHIL CAMPBELL, ALA. — Diane Peeples and Josh Pinkard were selected to the 2018 All-Alabama Academic Team for Northwest Shoals Community College (NWSCC) and honored last Friday (4/13) at the All-Alabama Academic Team Recognition Luncheon at the Montgomery Marriott Prattville Hotel and Conference Center in Prattville, Ala.

Peeples, a Muscle Shoals resident, currently is majoring in English at NWSCC and plans to transfer to the University of North Alabama. Also, Peeples was selected as a Bronze Scholar on the Coca-Cola’s 2018 Academic Team. The prestigious honor includes a $1,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

Pinkard, a Russellville resident, currently is majoring in Pre-Engineering at NWSCC and plans to attend University of Alabama in Huntsville. 

The faculty and staff of NWSCC nominate students from each campus of the college. The criteria for voting for a student is to choose students who “excel academically; demonstrate intellectual rigor in their course of study; show academic growth and potential; and use their two-year college education to better themselves, their schools and their communities.” Each community college in Alabama has two representatives.

The Alabama College System’s All-Alabama Academic Team Recognition Program was established in 1995 as an enhancement to the All-USA National Academic Team Recognition Program, which is sponsored by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, the American Association of Community Colleges and USA Today.